cleaning brown algae from leaves

Discuss specific plants, general plant care, help setting up a plant tank, rare plants, and general help
m.milliner

Post by m.milliner »

I think the "gak" on the leaves is brown algae. Now I gotta try to clean it off without messing up the leaves of this gorgeous amazon sword...any ideas??
Ghazanfar Ghori
Site Admin

Post by Ghazanfar Ghori »

Ottos - they love brown algae!
-
Ghazanfar Ghori

SCMurphy
Site Admin

Post by SCMurphy »

After the oto's you should get more light into the tank, the algae is diatoms, it doesn't like bright light. That will keep it from coming back.
"したくさ" Sean

Aquascape? I'm a crypt farmer.

If you've got bait, I've got wasabi!

I wish I could be like Mr. Sarcastic when I grow up! ;)
jerseyjay

Post by jerseyjay »

Good news and bad news about brown algae. First of all it is fairly easy to control or get rid of it. Brown algae is usually, but not exclusively, a diatom. Diatoms require silica in the water to reproduce and grow. They are an algae with a shell made from silicas. So the easiest way to control them or get rid of them is to remove the silica, which is found in most tap water, but can cost serious $$$. Controling the source of the water is one way to remove them. As of now, every time you do a water change, you are adding fresh silica into the system for the diatoms to use to grow. So as long as there is a source of silica, a source of fertilizer, and a light source you will have brown algae.

Almost all "true" brown algae are marine. There are very few freshwater species and they are relatively rare even in nature. Brown algae of either water type tend to grow in cold waters.

Although some people would say that there is no relation between diatom vs. light and would call this a myth, I have to disagree. As an example I will talk about my own experience.