Lighting calculator - Amano style

Lighting, filtration etc
Ghazanfar Ghori
Site Admin

Post by Ghazanfar Ghori »

Here's something interesting I came across. It's better
than using the 3Watts/G rule...

<a href="http://www.fitchfamily.com/lighting.html" target="_blank">http://www.fitchfamily.com/lighting.html</a>
-
Ghazanfar Ghori

RTRJR

Post by RTRJR »

I like that analysis...

Comments from Ivo?
SCMurphy
Site Admin

Post by SCMurphy »

Watts per surface area, interesting, I wonder what watts per depth would show.
"したくさ" Sean

Aquascape? I'm a crypt farmer.

If you've got bait, I've got wasabi!

I wish I could be like Mr. Sarcastic when I grow up! ;)
RTRJR

Post by RTRJR »

That is why I'd like to hear comments from someone who in-depth knows these points. Point source versus line source versus plane source does affect the computation. I remember from my time of playing with terrestials under lights that at some home-achievable point, the distance from the tube dropped out of the equation. I have always had the suspicion that this had some effect on the lower wattage needed for large tanks.
Jonathan Kalmes

Post by Jonathan Kalmes »

I'm just going to try to confuse the issue even further here...

There are two other points that aren't really addressed (at least not directly) in the article. Water does absorb and reflect a certain amount of light. Also, the tank glass reflects light back into the tank. I believe that the amount of absorption is also logarithmic and I suspect the reflection from the glass is as well... if not directly, then at least indirectly due to the absorption of the source light by the water.

I would suspect that this is the reason that the graph in the article is logarithmic in the first place, due to the amount of absorption caused by the depth of the water in larger volume tanks and that the amount of glass that there is to reflect the light.

Just a guess though. :)
--Jonathan (aka smthng)